Our Scars and Our Stories.

“Scars are evidence that wounds heal.”

-Lecrae

Have you ever though about scars?

Think about a time when you fell down and hurt yourself when you were a little kid. Maybe you got rug burn on your knee, or elbow or got a cut from a pair of scissors or maybe you really hurt yourself and cut off the edge of your finger from a saw in wood shop. I remember one time when I was riding my bike and thought it was the best idea to go down the steepest hill I could find in my neighborhood. I pushed my bike to the top and when I got to the top I just looked over the hill and looked at the city.

I pushed down this hill and for the first few seconds it was amazing, the wind wiping around me, going through my hair and pushing against my glasses. I thought I was a bird flying in the wind, seeing the world for a different way, then the fear kicked in. I was going really fast, too fast. Flying past the trees, and houses, and even my friend, heather who came with me. I pushed the breaks but it was too late and they didn’t work. I got to the bottom of the hill and couldn’t do anything to stop and so I hit a tree right in front of me.

I leaped over the handlebars hit the tree, fell off the bike, and laid on the ground, hurt, scared, alone. I got up after a few seconds with some help from my friend. I had a few cuts and bruises and now I have a scar. I will never forget how I got this white line on my forearm. Scars are never forgotten. The stories where they come form are never forgotten.

The scars we’ve created, the life we lived, the things we’ve done are what make up our past and we remember these scars to grow from them and to help others grow from their scars. These scars do not define us and do not hold us back from the newness of life that we have received from the death and resurrection in Jesus Christ. Scars are things that we have done to ourselves wether that be pains, struggles, or sins, its our past. We look back to the past to see where we have been, we live and grow in the present and we reach to the future to grow closer to God and help others with their struggles. Scars shouldn’t hold us back from growing in our faith or sharing our faith either.

Lecrae, who is a top charting Christian Rapper with a number one selling album Anomaly who knows more than anyone about Scars said this at a concert I attended last night… “Scars are evidence that wounds heal.” This truth is what can set us free from our sins and from our doubts and fears. Scars show other people that there is a healing power in Christ through our lives and our experiences! The miracles like the healing of the bleeding woman (Mark5:25-29), or the blind man that Jesus healed with mud (John 9), or the raising of Lazarus (John 11). These miracles that are preformed in many verses of the bible are real and still happen today! These stories are not fake or not important and neither is your story.

“Scars have the strange power to remind us that our past is real.”
― Cormac McCarthy

The cuts and pain I felt from my bike accident as a kid hurt and were terrible, but they scared over and the pain went away. I was healed and didn’t have to wear a bandaid over my arm anymore. I remember the pain like it was yesterday. My arm bleeding and having dirt in it. I know that physical pain hurts and so does emotional pain. In high school I was bullied for a number of years. To be honest I never thought the remarks people made about my weight or when someone said something rude bothered me at the time. Looking back at my high school days because of these words people used I never went out for a school play or for the soccer team (Two things in which I love). Scars hurt and they have a lasting affect on our lives. Words hurt and have a lasting affect on our lives.

Scars hurt and are ugly but God can use ugly and hurt things like you and me. God uses our scars to meet other people where they are and what they need. We all have different scars and struggles but somewhere out in the world, in your backyard, in your schools or offices someone shares our scars. Some of us have the same struggles and are broken. God wants to use these scars to help others through their dark times like he helped us through our dark times.

There is a song called “Broken Vessels (Amazing Grace) by Hillsong Worship and it talks about how we are all broken vessels but God picks us up and uses us. We are like a clay flower pot. If I drop the pot and it breaks and shatters into a million pieces. But God picks these pieces up and knows where to place them to create new pieces of art. God uses us and calls us places to use us there. I am called right now to be a student at Kingswood University in Sussex NB Canada where I am studying to be a youth pastor. God is using me here and he is reaching the lost youth of Sussex through me.

“All these pieces, Broken and scattered, In mercy gathered, Mended and whole, Empty handed But not forsaken, I’ve been set free.”

– Broken Vessels by Hillsong Worship 

So, scars hurt and are ugly. We all have them. Don’t be afraid to show them and tell people your story. Our story and testimonies show how God is working, healing, and fixing our lives. Our testimony is the proof that God is real and alive and working today! We are broken. We can be made new. Our stories don’t stop when we accept Christ, a new chapter begins. Our lives are a book, so write your story, flip the page and start a new chapter, title it My Scars. 

Thanks for reading! Share this message and tag it with #OurScarsOurStories God Bless everyone!

Praise the LORD, O my soul. I will praise the LORD all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.

—Psalm 146:1-2

Leave a Reply

