Perfection as an illusion 

 Perfection; a noun meaning the condition, state, or quality of being free or as free as possible from all flaws or defects.

Perfection can be seen in nature. The rivers that have a calming flow or a wild rush. The trees that flourish over the roof tops or that come crashing down on a car. The thunderstorms that light up the sky or that burn down homes. Perfection can be seen in the wildlife. The beauty of an elephant. The freshness of a newborn. The awesomeness of a giraffe. Or the unknown of the deep blue. 

Perfection has a double standard. 

Perfection is hard and almost impossible to grasp. Gods creation is perfect because the perfect being created it. My garden at home that the deer nibble on is not even close to being perfect. My artistic ability is about a negative 100% perfect and Gods right hand is a magical brush. 

Perfection for humans is impossible. Perfection for God is second nature to him. 

This is something I’ve been learning to deal with in my own life. 

This past Wednesday my school (Kingswood Univeristy) and myself visited Catons Island for a retreat all day. We took an hour and a half to adventure the island and truly meet with God in his Perfect creation.

Last year we did the same thing but I didn’t take it was seriously as I did this time. I sat on a rock and watched as people passed by every few moments. This year I walked the whole island which took about the whole time. I took time to sit on rocks near the waters edge and eat lunch and this is where God taught me my lesson. 

I originally wanted to go straight for these three sides shelters because it was raining slightly but God led me out to the waters edge instead. Where of course it was raining and the water was splashing up on me. It was cold and damp and was louder than any place on the island. 

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders. Let me walk upon the waters, Wherever You would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander. And my faith will be made stronger.” 

The song oceans by Hillsong is what God used to break through on this day. God told me to walk upon the waters and not take the easy road in life. The comfort level isn’t what’s important but walking on the waters and taking the unknown! The trails less traveled, the roads less taken, walking on the waters is where I want to be. Step out of the boat and walk on the waters; comfort is less than the unknown. God meets us in the unknown. 

There were these rocks that were red and some were small and some were large. But each rock if you could pick it up and drop it, would brake. God reminded me that these rocks are like me. My life is never perfect and never will be.

 I am being chiseled and made new every day. My journey is never over and has started 21 years ago. Each day, each week, each milestone, each memory is a new chapter. And just like the rocks I can be picked up and dropped and made new. The bad and old can be taken away and a new layer is found and shown. 

God is working. God is moving. God is healing. 

Leave a Reply

