christ has authority. 

“But I want you to know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins.” So he said to the paralyzed man, “Get up, take your mat and go home.””‭‭Matthew‬ ‭9:6‬ ‭NIV‬‬

This son of man has authority to forgive me of the wrongs I’ve done. He has the authority to say it’s okay when I mess up. He has the authority to say “Sean, you were wrong but it’s okay.” He has authority or a hold on my life. He forgives. He gives grace. He’s the only one who can. 

This passage reminds me of my parents and the authority that they have over me. (Even while I’m 21, in a different county and independent) they still have authority over me. If my mom asks me to do something I do it. If my dad says he needs my help I should help him. That’s my respect and love towards them. 

It also reminds me of my high school principle. If the principle called me into his office I go. If he tells me to slow down in the hallway I slow down. He has authority over me while I’m at school. He looks out for me while I’m there learning. 

Last the verse reminds me of my grandma. My grandma has, will, and is still to this day calling me her “little peanut”. She can still do this ONLY BECAUSE she still has authority over me. Now to me grandmas have an authority that is like a crack of the whip. If my nanny (I call my grandma nanny) tells me to be nice, I’m nice. If she tells me to go clean my room, I clean my room. If she asks for help, I help her immediately. 

Christ has authority over our lives. He has an authority that no parent, principle, or grandma could ever hold. (Sorry nanny!) Christ is above all. Before all. And among all. Christ reigns. 

Above all:

Christ stands above us all. He’s like the mountains and we are the valley bowing down. He is the eagle who soars above the world. He’s the rising and setting sun. He’s the highest of highs. He is the one who holds the earth in the middle of his hands. Christ is upon the throne on the right hand of the father. 

Christ is king above the kingdoms. Kings and Queens bow down. Christ is above the tree tops, and above the world. Christ reigns higher than the Angels themselves. He is above all and everything. 

Before all: 

Bae. Before anyone else. A popular saying these day. Usually said towards a significant other, but Christ is bae. He is before all. He comes before my meals. He comes before my homework. He comes before the day begins. He starts the day off with a sunrise. Christ is before my family, before my friends. Before my life. 

Christ is the one who was and is and is to come. He was here before creation. He was before the first waters, before the first livestock, he was before the first humans. Christ was and is and is to come. He is time. 

Among all: 

Christ is here. Christ is now. His presence is all around. Christ is the one who is standing next to us. He’s always with us. He is with us through the the hurtful times, he is with us through death. He is with us in the depressions. He is with us when we’re down in the dirt. He is here. 

Christ is here when we’re doing good. Praise him when we are in a great place!! Christ is among us even when life is good. Christ is here in the new promotions. Christ is here when we get a raise. He is with us when a baby is born. He is with us when we get married. He is here. 

Controlling issues: 

Christ has authority. He has authority over my life. He has control so I don’t have to because if I had control I would be even more of a mess. Life gets messy when we take life into our own hands or control. Let go and let God. Let God take care of your problems. You can’t fix them. I can’t fix them. 

This has been a constant reminder in My life. I have no control, no authority. I’m a vessel for God to use and mold and brake. I’m broken because I’m human. But God breaks us and then makes a mosaic out of us. A mosaic that is created from beautiful memories, lessons, friends, and family. My life, Our lives can be and are a beautiful mosaic. 

So. Christ is above all, before all, among all. This is my prayer today in my own life. 

Be reminded by this verse today that Christ is in authority of your life. Be calm. Relax. Breathe. In his presence everything is new and bows before him. Take a note that he is in control. Let go and let God. 

“But I want you to know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins.” So he said to the paralyzed man, “Get up, take your mat and go home.””

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭9:6‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Be blessed.  

Leave a Reply

