The Key

Red hats and purple rooms All the memories locked in a tomb.

I  wish I had the key to unlock the door

Because all I want is to experience them once more.

There isn’t a day that passes me by

Where I don’t miss your tender voice

Walking in to your home

Just to see it empty though.

The days when you would joke with me

Tell me something that was oh so funny

I miss the good old days where we would be together

Can we go back in time and replay the memory’s together.

Let’s take a journey…

It’s the times at the fair. Or getting lunch at McDonald’s. Or the time you came over for Christmas dinner. When I think of you.

But above all this theres one memory I remember.

The last time we spoke words to each other.

You were in the hospital bed.

They said you were getting better.

I prayed for you and I cried.

You told me to stop, that you’d be fine.

I left for school and three weeks later I got call.

It was mom. Crying. Upset. Defeat.

Then the words slipped out of her mouth.

Your time has come. You were gone. You left.

I had no words. Just tears. You were gone.

The one who was always there. Gone.

The smile that you always gave me. Gone.

The red hats. Gone. The Angels in your home Gone.

People started to ask “how are you doing?”

And I lied… Oh I’m okay…

I was devastated. You were gone.

But now I look back on the days of memories

And think about the last memory together…

Your face… So happy. So bright. So hopefully

I would never want it another way.

I get to remember the good moments.

The good times. The good memory’s.

I get to remember you. So back to my poem.
Red hats and purple rooms

All the memories locked in a tomb.

I wish I had the key to unlock the door

Because all I want is to experience them once more.

Red hats and purple rooms.

I have the memory’s and see the tomb.

I own the key and unlock the door

Because all I want is to remember once more…

I love and miss you Aunt Doris. Three years too long.

One thought on “The Key

Leave a Reply

