Unknown Territory

Hello friends and family!

My life has been one heck of a crazy storm and wild ride lately. Ive been stomping around the unknown to say the least lately. God is doing huge things and is working in amazing ways, as always. God has been transforming me into someone new this semester. That has been on of the hardest things to understand and accept.To flush this out more I shall use one phrase… The Unknown.

The unknown is scary, frightening, nerve wracking, exciting, fresh, new, and a whole lot of other emotions and feelings… but for me right now overall its strange.God has taken me from one place to the other and I’ve also taken myself to many other points on this map along the way… I’ve lost my way and I’ve found my path again. Life threw me curve balls and some I have hit out of the park and some I’ve missed. Ive taken the most of my opportunities given to me. I have failed but I’ve also learned so much. I’m not the same person I was a few months ago and I’m thankful for that every day!

Since the beginning of this semester (January 2016) I have been contemplating and thinking about what my next few life steps will be. I am graduating in 3 weeks today actually… and that in and of it self is scary! BUT non the less I am moving on from Kingswood University where I’ve spent the last 4 years of my life and now I am going into the real world… I will no longer be living in a Christian bubble, I will no longer have restrictions or things holding me back… I can do whatever I want, I can be whoever I want, I can go where I want and when I want. I have no rules.

The fact that I will be my own responsibility is not nerve wracking to me, actually it makes me quite happy and I can not wait to be on my own and start a family and life of my own!! It is actually the fact that I do not know what to do yet! I have all the power to do whatever I want and I don’t know what to do with it. Ironic huh…or as my Canadian side of me would say… Ironic Eh?!?

This is where God comes and interjects into my life, which is a blessing! I don’t need to know what to do… God has a timing outside of our understanding and all I need to do is wait.I need to be patient, obedient, and watching and listening for his will and voice to show me the way! Which as we all know is harder than said. Patience does not come easy to me and the unknown does not settle with me well. There are endless things that could happen, I could end up of taking a job at a church being a pastor, or I can go back to school and get a counseling degree, or I can get a job at target, or I can do countless other options, but all I know is that through it all I will have a support system and a Heavenly Father who loves me.

I will have YOU! I will have my biological family, my FAM (You know who you are), my friends, and the people who I’m not as close with but your still important to me!

SIDE NOTE: A Big thank you to all those who have supported me through my journey not just here at Kingswood or through these last few months but also in my life! You all have played huge roles in my life especially my mom and dad! Thank you for your continued support and love no matter my mistakes, choices, and hurts and pains, joys and excitements! Thank you to my amazing Girl friend who has put up with me and my nonsense for 10 months! thank you for caring and taking this journey one step at a time with me! Also thank you to my close friends Dillon, Ben, Heather, Emily M., Hope, Emily E., Helen, Kait, Abs, Ray, Scott, and countless, countless others! Your support and friendship has meant the world to me!  SIDE NOTE OVER! 

I do not need to stress, struggle and suffer through this journey. I shouldn’t. I don’t have any reason to! This is just another step into my life as a young adult and as my good friend and professor,  Brent Dongell says in his book The Hard Twenty Somethings 

“This is a different life stage with its own pro’s and con’s, so its not something you have to apologize or be insecure about, even if others don’t see your freedom in the same way.” 

I am in a stage of life where I do not need everything together, I don’t need all the answers, I don’t need to have all of everything! Im still young, I’m still learning, I’m still growing. I don’t need the pressure of the world to tell me to be something or to fit into a certain box, this cookie cutter world isn’t meant for me or you!

Jesus came, suffered, died, rose again, and will return one day to bring me home. My one and true home, Heaven. God has not forgotten about me or you! He is watching over each and every one of us. He gives us little signs and people in our lives as reminders. My reminder of Jesus love for me daily is the joy i receive from my family and close friends. Joy is so important to me… I also think that Joy is important to God! Check out Romans 15:13! 

But to end this long rant and update on my life I want to say a few things. Reminders to myself and you…

  1. Hold onto Hope, its the only thing that gets you through the fear and the unknown!
  2. Never give up on God because he’s never given up on you! He will return for us one day!
  3. Don’t expect God to work in our time zones. He’s above time and is the creator of time. Be patient and wait for his will and still voice!
  4. Find the reminders in your life that remind you of his love for you wether that be a bible verse, a person, a place, or a thing!

Thank you for listening and I hope this helps you in your life, it helps me to write down my thoughts and current life situations! If you would like to help me through this journey there are ways for you to do so…

  1. PRAYER! I can always use prayer in my life! I currently know that for the summer (June-September) I will be finishing my degree/ internship at Spruce Lake Retreat Center and I couldn’t be more excited!
  2. Shoot me a text, email, or phone call to let me know you are thinking and praying for me! This might sound selfish but I can’t read minds and its always nice to receive encouragement through out the week!

 

So thank you. I hope this helps because its helped me to process and think this through more! Thanks for reading and stay up to date with daily post on my Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @sean_kem and on my snapchat seanosaursrex! Thank you for reading and God bless you!

 

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

Leave a Reply

