One Hard Night

“Friendship … is born at the moment when one man says to another “What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . .”
― C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

Take a journey with me?

Tonight has been one of the hardest nights I’ve had in a long time because I’ve realized a few things…

  1. I start my internship in about 15 days
  2. I am very tired and emotional right now and
  3. I miss my friends…

I graduated from College about 12 days ago and I made tons of friendships and relationships there (Sussex NB Canada) (12 hours away from home PA). And tonight it hit me hard that I won’t get to spend 24/7 (or close to that) with them anymore. So to start off this hard to write, emotional, sappy, encouraging post I want to start with 5 points…

  1. DONT TAKE TIME WITH FRIENDS FOR GRANTED
  2. LOVE YOUR FRIENDS DONT FIGHT WITH THEM
  3. TELL YOUR FRIENDS EVERYTHING
  4. TRUST YOUR FRIENDS
  5. SHARE LIFE, MOMENTS, ADVENTURES, TEARS AND EVERYTHING WITH YOUR FRIENDS.

So this is where this gets hard for me…

To Abs…

The first time I saw you I made fun of you… and I’m pretty sure the last time I saw you I made fun of you too! I love your fun and adventurous personality. We have shared many many moments of life with each other and I appreciate that! I thank you for opening up to me, I thank you for going on adventures with me, I thank you for being my cliche internet friend that understands and agrees with my pop culture! You are an amazing friend. Thank you.

To Ray…

My dishpit buddy! Thank you for your adventurous, encouraging, fun, and loving personality. Thank you for sharing your love of photography and exploring with me. Thank you for sharing some of your hardest moments in life with me. Your story is influential and encouraging to me. You are so strong. One of the strongest women I know! Thank you for caring for my life, needs, and sas. Thank you.

To Scott…

My last roommate at KU. Thank you for sharing your love of music with me. Thank you for bringing the inner “hipster” out in me. Thank you for complaining with me at times, thank you for encouraging me at times, Thank you for caring for me at times, and thank you for laughing with me or at me at almost all times! You were one of my favorite roommates I’ve ever had! Thank you.

To Kaitlyn…

My little sister. Thank you for sharing life with me in almost every way possible. Thank you for showing me what compassion looks like. Thank you for giving me grace when needed and love always! Thank you for letting me take you under your wing and care for you always! Thank you for going on double dates to DQ, McDonalds, The Salvation Army and so many other places! Thank you for sharing your love of photography, adventure, exploring, and the ocean with me! Thank you for showing me what true friendship looks like when you thought you didn’t know what it looked like yourself… deep down you were meant for friendships. You were built for friends. You thrive of Friends. Thank you for growing and getting to know me so fast. Thank you.

To Callie…

One of my favorite people on this planet. Thank you for loving me when none else can. Thank you for caring for me when I’m sick. Thank you for bringing me food at 11:30 pm. Thank you for dealing with my difficult and sassy self. Thank you for encouraging me with kind and wise words. Thank you for traveling life with me these past 3 years as friends and past year as my amazing girl friend. Thank you for sharing your love of music and adventure with me. Thank you. I love you. Forever. Thank you.

To Ben…

The one I’ve known the longest. Thank you for showing me what it means to be a bro. Thank you for making me laugh and cry at times! Thank you for spending late nights with me playing mario party, watching the office, watching movies, eating pizza, adventures to abandoned places and the ocean with me. Thank you for traveling through 4 years of my college career with me, whether we were friends for all 4 or only a few ,thank you. This past year has been an adventure and you’ve picked up a lot of my pieces and carried them for me. You have shown me what it is like to have a guy friend. You are one of my best friends now and I wouldn’t have it any other way… wait I actually would. Your actually my “older” brother.Thank you. Thank you.

To Dillon…

The one and only. Where do I begin? Thank you. Honestly I think yours is one of the hardest to write (sorry everyone). That is because in only 1 year of school at Kingswood you have some how affected my life so much. No one has been able to impact my life like you have in such a short amount of time. It takes time to get where you are in my life. That is why its so hard to write this… words can’t explain how thankful I am to you. Thank you for making me think. Thank you for making me speak. Thank you for listening. Thank you for understanding. Thank you for being one of my best friends. Thank you for caring. Thank you for making me laugh. Thank you for the adventures to the beach, the homes, the barns, the ocean. Thank you for introducing me to geocaching. Thank you for showing me what its like to have a couple as my best friends. Thank you for how you’ve grown so close to me in only a year. Thank you for being there. Thank you for the late nights. Thank you for the sleepovers. Thank you for just being you. Even when you though I was helping you, when I was speaking, when I was angry, when I was the one who “had the answers” you showed me what being real and honest was. You showed me I don’t have to be afraid of who I was, who I am and who I’m becoming. You showed me that living my story out is what I need to do. You showed me that I’m not perfect. You showed me who I truly was and that is why this semester has been my favorite out of all 8 of them. Not because I’m finally done with school but I learned who I truly was and I learned what a true friend ,wait no… I earned what its like to have a brother. Thank you. Thank you.

There are a tons more of people who could’ve made this list and this is for you…

Thank you. Thank you for helping make me who I am. Without every single one of you I would not be who I am today. God has placed you in my life for so many reasons! Thank you for loving me. Thank you for caring for me. Thank you for being there for me. Thank you for so much more than I can think of to write. Thank you for being my friends and Fam. Thank you for showing me who God is and why he loves me. Thank you. Thank you.

 

Well this is another chapter and it doesn’t mean that these friendships and relationships are over. It means that I won’t be there physically on campus or in your lives 24/7… but I’m only a phone call, FaceTime, Skype session, text, email, fb message away… Memories, Pictures, and we live on, life goes on and so do we.

Thank you. So much. For everything.

 

 

“Friendship … is born at the moment when one man says to another “What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . .”
― C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

Leave a Reply

