The moment…

The moment lives went into a whirl.

The moment heads began to turn.

The moment when everything stopped.

The moment I wanted it to end.

This moment was the worst.

This moment should have not came so soon.

This moment I’ll never understand.

This moment makes me plan sad.

The moment someone passes away is hard.

This moment is not good.

The moment someone has rest.

This moment is what I’m confident in.

The moment is here.

This moment has appeared.

Matt was one of the best men I know. He had so many amazing qualities and so many God given gifts. He was a man after Gods own heart and was leading others toward him. Matt was one of the people I opened up to completely. Matt gave me so many insights into life, so much advice in hard situations and LOTS and LOTS of laughs. The countless McDonald’s and Burger King runs, life chats, retirement home visits, car rides, band meetings, random text messages, cat videos I received on a daily basis, fart jokes, tears shared, smiles exchanged, and so much more will not be taken for granted.

I did not expect to receive that email today…

I did not expect a friend to go away…

I did not expect to have less time…

But with that being said I know a few things…

1) God is in control. His ways may be unknown or mysterious but he is in control. He guides the way and knows our nexts steps.

2) Matt was an amazing man. He was a blessing to me and to many. He was full of joy, love, hope, friendship, charisma, christlikeness, and so much more.

3) Life is going to be difficult. But God promises us peace and rest in him. His promises never fail. Look to the sky and see his promise after a storm.

So I have hope that God is taking everyone affected by this by the hand and caring for us all. His love, joy, rest and comfort will fill our holes that are left empty.

This is where most would say Rest in Peace, but I know Matt is at peace. His life and legacy show that. His love is so radiant even now.

Find hope in God.

Find hope in the light.

Find that the storm will clam once again…

Genesis 8:1

But God remembered Noah and all the wild animals and the livestock that were with him in the ark, and he sent a wind over the earth, and the waters receded.

Matthew 11:28

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

May the memory of Matts life live on and be as fun as he was.

Leave a Reply

