This is the place I live…

This is the place I live… 
I live in America Land of the free and home of the brave 

A place where I don’t have to be afraid 

Because we’re the most powerful nation 

I don’t have to be afraid of bombs dropping 

Or Isis happening. 
I just have to be afraid of my neighbor shooting up my local target. 

Or my small group leader killing his wife. 

Or my child’s bus driver drinking and driving. 

Or the stranger killing 50 people In a night club. 

Or the stranger killing people in a church. 

Or the stranger who kills a school full of children. 
I don’t have to be afraid of the wars in the world because of the imaginary gates that are either holding them out or holding me in. 
I don’t have to be afraid of the diseases that take the world by storm because I’ve been told we’re invincible. 
I have to be afraid of the people who can’t get help and they decide to kill a bunch of people. 
I have to be afraid of the stranger on my street who has a small red dot above their house. 
This is where I live.

The all powerful America. 

This is where I live. 

Apparently I’m a first world nation but I feel as if I’m a third. 

This is the place I live. 
But I have heard of a place. 

Where shootings don’t happen. 

Guns aren’t real. 

People get help. 

Bombs don’t drop. 

The streets are filled with gold. 

The hearts are full of love. 

The eyes are full of joy. 

The hands are full of service. 
This is the place I’m going to live. 

I’m moving today! 

America isn’t my home anymore. 

Heaven is my home. 
A place where I don’t have to be afraid. 

A place where love is in control. 

A place where guns don’t shoot. 

A place where people receive help. 

A place where joy overpowers hate. 

A place where God is the president. 
This is the place I live. 

Leave a Reply

